School Lunch Ideas!

 

SvobodaFamily,2016-12

I can’t possibly claim to be a perfect mama. I don’t buy all organic food. My children get sassy spray and spankin’s on a regular basis. They get way too much screen time. They drink slushies from the gas station. They eat Target hotdogs. They drink root beer and Sprite when we’re out to eat. And, they only bathe like once a week. Sorry, not sorry.

BUT, when it comes to packing lunches, I feel like that may have been one area where I could say I excelled ((a little)) this year ;). After watching way too many food documentaries this past summer, I committed myself to packing healthy school lunches for the boys. I did a whole lot of research and gathered lots of ideas on what would be best to pack them each day. It generally stays the same from day to day but occasionally I like to change it up and get creative.

Before you tell me how awesome I am, I am going to disclose to you that Caleb DOES still buy school lunches on occasion. Like days where I just can’t possibly pack ONE MORE SCHOOL LUNCH!!!

I started off by finding the right lunchbox for the boys. This lunchbox had to be leakproof because I knew I would be packing applesauce and yogurt in their lunches and didn’t want it all over the other food. I decided to go with the Yumbox. It’s a bit pricey BUT I’m hoping it will last for quite awhile. So far, we haven’t had any issues with it and we’ve been using them for about 8 months. Next, I bought these little silicone cupcake holders so I could divide the food inside of the lunchbox. This has been the cheapest, most helpful thing that I have done. Finally, I bought some silicone popsicle molds for smoothies. Calvin doesn’t like smoothies, but Caleb LOVES them. I fix a batch of 6 at the beginning of the week, freeze them, then put one into his lunch each day. The smoothie has time to thaw before lunch and is a great consistency by the time he’s ready to eat it.

Next I had to figure out what to put in the lunchbox!! Caleb was pretty easy because he will eat just about anything. Calvin, on the other hand, is a little more picky. It was trial and error the first few times I packed Calvin’s lunch but we’ve finally found our sweet spot where he’s actually coming home with no food left in his lunchbox about 90% of the time. It’s a miracle.

Here are some ideas for you….

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 12.49.55 PM

Applesauce, cucumbers with ranch, grapes, and half of a sandwich (Ezekiel bread with mayo, Applegate turkey and cheese)

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 12.49.44 PM

“Homemade Lunchable”: Almond thins, grapes, cheese slices, sliced pepperoni, cucumbers with ranch, and applesauce

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 12.49.33 PM

Paleo blueberry muffins, strawberries, and yogurt with Ezekiel granola and blueberries to add in

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 12.49.20 PM

Paleo corn dog muffins, grapes, applesauce, gummies, and Tessemaes ketchup for dipping

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 12.49.10 PM

Paleo blueberry muffins, celery with peanut butter, and yogurt with blueberries and homemade granola to add in

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 12.48.59 PM

Salami rolls, organic cheese stick (you can buy these in bulk at Costco for super cheap!), cucumbers and carrot sticks with ranch, and yogurt with homemade peanut butter granola and blueberries to add in

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 12.48.37 PM

Turkey rolls, grapes, almond thins, watermelon, and cucumbers with ranch/hummus to dip

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 12.48.01 PM

“Homemade Lunchable”: Turkey slices, cheese slices, almond thins, grapes, carrots and ranch, frozen blueberries w/ yogurt, chocolate bunnies, and an Apple Pie Larabar for Calvin.

For the smoothies we alternate between a couple of different recipes that I found on 100 Days of Real Food: The PB&J Smoothie and The Tasty Smoothie.

Happy Lunch-Boxing!!

And, PLEASE, tell me if you have any really awesome lunch ideas that I NEED to try!! 

 

Leave a Reply

